About Us

Barrow County was one of the first communities in Georgia to become a Certified Literate Community under the Georgia Certified Literate Community Program (CLCP). In 1990, the State of Georgia started the CLCP as a “means of combating the problems of low literacy” in the State. The program was placed under the Office of Adult Education at the Technical College System of Georgia (TSG).

The mission of the Certified Literate Community Program is to mobilize every resource available to a community into a literacy campaign that functions within state certification guidelines and will result in a literate community.

To mobilize these efforts, each Certified Literate Community established a local coalition whose members represent local businesses, educators, civic groups, churches and governments. In Barrow County, this coalition is known as Adult Literacy Barrow, Inc. (ALB), a non-profit organization.

ALB is operated by a volunteer Board of Directors whose primary job is to promote literacy (from pre-school to adult) to local businesses, industries, civic groups and others through event-oriented promotions and programs that bring public awareness and media attention to the issue. We support the Adult Learning Program by raising funds through individual donations, annual giving campaigns, fundraisers, grants, corporate contributions and in kind resources. From these funds, tangibles such as supplies (paper, printer cartridges, etc), instructional materials needed by the teachers, GED scholarships, media promotions for public awareness, etc. are provided.

The Adult Learning Center is operated in Winder by Lanier Technical College at 163 Martin Luther King,Jr. Dr., Winder, GA 30680; phone 770-531-3361.

“The Adult Education Program is a cost-free instructional program that is specifically designed for adults who have different needs, backgrounds, and skills. Therefore, the College offers a flexible program which meets the needs of any individual wishing to participate. Three types of instruction extend from beginning reading and writing to high school completion through the General Education Development (GED) Program to English as a Second Language to American citizenship classes.” (Lanier Technical College website.)

Lanier Technical College provides an annual budget to pay the salaries of the teachers, equipment and books, etc. for the benefit of GED, ESL and other adult students. When this money has been used, ALB uses the funds it raises to provide additional materials needed. ALB funds may also be used for additional teachers and to fund necessary projects such as classroom renovations, additional equipment, etc.

The primary fundraiser for Adult Literacy Barrow, Inc. is the “Literacy Ball, a Novel Affair,” a black tie optional event held in January of each year. The Literacy Ball is planned and promoted by the Literacy Ball Planning Committee, a group of community volunteers.

Visit www.clcpga.org for more information about the Certified Literacy Program. Visit www.laniertech.edu for more information on the Adult Learning Program.

Adult Literacy Barrow Board Members

Linda Blechinger
Mayor, City of Auburn
lblechinger@cityofauburn-ga.org

Sally Brown
Executive Director, Adult Literacy Barrow
sbrown@laniertech.edu

Candy Greene, Board Secretary
Director of Community Outreach, Bethlehem Church
candy@bethlehemchurch.org

Pat Graham
Chair, Barrow County Board of Commisioners
pgraham@barrowga.org

Lynn Hammond, Board Treasurer
Owner, The Principal’s Palette & Gift Boutique
theprincipalspalette@windstream.net

Tiffany Lofton
Executive Director of Adult Education, Lanier Technical College
tlofton@laniertech.edu

Beth Magness
Retired Adult Education Lead Instructor
bmagness6244@windstream.net

Lisa Maloof
Director of Economic Development, Barrow County Board of Commissioners
lmaloof@barrowga.org

David Maynard
Mayor, City of Winder
david.maynard@cityofwinder.com

Beth McMichael
Literacy, Barrow County School System
beth.mcmichael@barrow.k12.ga.us

Sherri Perry
Dual Enrollment and REACH Coordinator, Barrow County School System
sherri.perry@barrow.k12.ga.us

Lisa Prescott
Lead Instructor of Barrow County Adult Learning Center, Lanier Technical College
lprescott@laniertech.edu

Dottie Reynolds
dsr8899@windstream.net

Tifanie Bean Ring
Market Leader, BB&T Winder Branch
tring@bbandt.com

Tommy Sanders
Owner, Sanders Furniture
sandersfc@windstream.net

Russell Shepley, Board Vice Chair
Owner/CEO, Winder Insurance
russell@winderinsctr.com

Gayle Steed, Board Chair
Retired Councilwoman, City of Statham
gsteed@mindspring.com

Russell Steedley
Vice President, First American Bank
russell@firstamericanshare.com

Allyson Summerour
Lanier Technical College Board of Directors
allyson.summerour@gmail.com

Susan Wages
Retired Educator, Barrow County School System
susanowages@windstream.net

We stand ready to help you in reaching your dreams and capturing your future.

Get in touch

Phone:  (770) 531-3361

E-mail:  sbrown@laniertech.edu

Location:
Adult Literacy Barrow
@ Wimberly Community Center
163 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
Winder, Georgia 30680

Adult Literacy Barrow @ Wimberly Center

MAP